Blog ini menyajikan hasil karya Desain Grafis saya dan kawan kawan desainer yang berada di seluruh dunia.
Serta menyajikan berita berita menarik dari seluruh penjuru dunia.
Go to Blogger edit html and find these sentences.Now replace these sentences with your own descriptions.This theme is Bloggerized by Lasantha Bandara - Premiumbloggertemplates.com.
Go to Blogger edit html and find these sentences.Now replace these sentences with your own descriptions.This theme is Bloggerized by Lasantha Bandara - Premiumbloggertemplates.com.
Go to Blogger edit html and find these sentences.Now replace these sentences with your own descriptions.This theme is Bloggerized by Lasantha Bandara - Premiumbloggertemplates.com.
Go to Blogger edit html and find these sentences.Now replace these sentences with your own descriptions.This theme is Bloggerized by Lasantha Bandara - Premiumbloggertemplates.com.
Go to Blogger edit html and find these sentences.Now replace these sentences with your own descriptions.This theme is Bloggerized by Lasantha Bandara - Premiumbloggertemplates.com.
Sering kali kita menginginkan gambar dengan
kualitas bagus namun dengan ukuran/size yang tidak menguras hardisk.
Tutorial kali ini berlaku tidak hanya pada Photoshop saja, terbukti pada
Adobe Illustrator juga bisa diaplikasikan.
Sebagai bahan perbandingan, kita aplikasikan cara mengoptimalkan ukuran dan kualitas dengan gambar ini!
Pada kasus yang pertama, gambar ini akan kita simpan dengan step
normal, yaitu File > Save as. Pada opsi ini kita akan dipampangkan
pada jendela untuk memilih kualitas yang akan kita terapkan pada gambar
ini. Pada banyak kasus, orang-orang lebih memilih pilihan MAXIMUM
quality dengan rasio 12/12, dan pilihan ini akan menghasilkan gambar
dengan kualitas terbaik dan ukuran yang juga besar. Tapi sebagai bahan
compare kali ini, kita akan menyimpannya pada kualitas HIGH dengan rasio
8/12. Dan gambar yang tersimpan akan sedikit berkurang kualitasnya.
Untuk ukurannya, gambar ini masih dikisaran 200kb.
Sekarang kita gunakan cara mengecilkan ukuran gambar dengan File > Save For Web & Devices. Apakah cara ini lebih optimal?
Setelah kita menyimpan gambar ini dengan standar web dan device, maka
kita akan dihadapkan pada window dengan tampilan yang sedikit rumit
dari yang sebelumnya. Tapi tidak perlu ambil pusing, karena settingan
ini masih mudah dipahami. Terlebih dahulu kita tentukan gambar yang akan
kita simpan ini akan kita save pada format apa, setelah itu tentukan
kualitas gambarnya.
Masih dengan pilihan yang sama, maka kita akan memilih kualitas HIGH dengan format JPEG seperti pada gambar ini:
Bagaimana hasil dari cara mengoptimalkan gambar dengan step
yang kedua ini? Hasilnya sangat efisien. Dengan kualitas output yang
tidak mengecewakan, gambar ini memiliki ukuran yang hanya 30% dari
ukuran gambar aslinya, yaitu hanya kisaran 60kb.
Semoga tutorial ini bisa menjadi opsi untuk Anda sebagai cara mengoptimalkan dan mengecilkan gambar dengan kualitas baik. Jika Anda memiliki banyak file yang ingin dioptimalkan ukurannya, Anda bisa menggunakan bantuan Action untuk memproses banyak file hanya dengan beberapa klik.
Tahukah Anda fungsi fitur “Actions”? Jika
Anda belum mengetahui fungsi fitur Actions, Anda akan merasa terbantu
saat mengetahui fungsi fitur ini terlebih bagi Anda yang ingin melakukan
pengulangan step berkali-kali, contohnya mengubah kualitas gambar
dengan banyak file. Pada kesempatan kali ini, kami akan mengajak Anda
lebih dekat dengan fitur Actions ini. Fitur ini memudahkan Anda
melakukan repetation berulang-ulang pada banyak file.
Perlu diketahui sebelumnya bahwa fitur ini tidak hanya tersedia pada
Photoshop, di Illustrator pun Anda juga bisa menjumpai fitur Actions
ini. Tetapi kebanyakan orang lebih memanfaatkan fitur ini pada
Photoshop. Intinya fitur Actions ini mampu membantu Anda mengulang
step-by-step yang Anda rekam hanya dengan satu kali klik.
Berikut ini tahap awal dalam menggunakan fitur Actions:
Buka menu “Windows” dan pilih “Actions”, atau Anda bisa menggunakan shortcut Alt+F9
Untuk memulai awal step, Anda buat dahulu setnya dengan memilih “Create new set” pada “Palette Actions”
Setelah itu beri nama set tersebut dan tekan “record”
Maka dalam palet actions akan ada tombol bulat berwarna merah yang
mengidentifikasi bahwa setiap step yang Anda lakukan akan direkam secara
berurutan. Lakukan step-step yang Anda inginkan, jika dirasa sudah
selesai Anda bisa menekan “Stop” untuk menghentikan proses rekam action.
Dengan begini, semua step by step yang Anda lakukan akan direkam pada
set action tadi. Untuk membuktikannya, Anda bisa membuka foto lain dan
tekan tombol “Play Selection” untuk mengaplikasikan step by step yang
terekam, maka hasilnya akan sesuai dengan langkah-langkah yang
ter-record.
Fitur Actions ini akan memudahkan Anda yang ingin mengedit banyak
foto atau gambar hanya dengan sekali klik. Selain itu fitur ini juga
bisa menjadi media berbagi ‘tutorial kilat’ kepada teman Anda. Hanya
dengan sekali klik, hasil yang didapat akan mirip sesuai yang terekam.
Bagaimana caranya?
Cara menyimpan Actions di Photoshop
Untuk menyimpan Action Set, pertama Anda harus memilih
set yang ingin disimpan di palet Actions. Setelah itu Anda pilih “Save
Actions” yang terdapat pada menu icon sebelah pojok kanan atas pada
palet Actions.
Akan muncul sebuah pop-up yang dimana Anda dapat memberi nama dan
meletakkan file yang ber-ekstensi *.atn sesuai keinginan Anda. Jika
sudah yakin, kita tekan Save. Dengan file tersebut, Anda bisa berbagi “tutorial kilat” ala Anda sendiri
Cara membuka (load) Actions di Photoshop
Nah, jika kita sudah mendapatkan file dengan ekstensi *.atn, kita
tinggal menge-load file tersebut di komputer kita. Caranya cukup
gampang, tinggal pilih Load Action pada palet Actions dan cari dimana
file tersebut Anda simpan.
Setelah kita mengetahui fungsi fitur Actions, tentu kita akan sangat
terbantu untuk pengerjaan banyak file, atau mungkin mengaplikasikan step
by step seseorang dengan hanya sekali klik.
Kali ini kita akan membahas tentang cara
membuat dan menyetting Brush pada Adobe Illustrator. Pada versi CS5 kita
akan menemui fitur baru yaitu “Width Profile” dimana ada beberapa
pilihan. Bagaimana jika pada Adobe Illustrator kita tidak terdapat
profile ini? Nah tutorial kali ini adalah ‘mencontek’ profile yang ada
pada versi CS5.Pada Illustrator CS5 terdapat fitur baru yang dapat kita temui pada window “Stroke Option” dan berada paling bawah, yaitu Profiles.
Pada tutorial kali ini, kita akan belajar bagaimana cara membuat brush serta pengaturan Width Profiles pada Adobe Illustrator. Kita akan mempelajarinya step by step, dimana terdapat 6 Width Profiles serta 1 uniform profile.
Untuk Uniform profile, kita tidak akan kupas lebih terperinci karena
profile ini sangat sederhana dan ada secara default. Sekarang kita akan
langsung menuju ke profile pertama!
Setting Brush: Width Profile 1
Profile yang pertama ini sangat keren, karena dengan profile ini kita
berasa seperti menggunakan tablet grafis dengan kesan pressure. Untuk
membuat profile ini caranya cukup mudah. Pilih Ellipse Tool (shortcut L)
kemudian setting dengan lebar 12pt dan tinggi 3pt. Kemudian
pilih Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift+C), double klik pada
masing-masing ujungnya hingga membentuk lancip.
Setelah itu pastikan shape yang kita buat tadi sudah terseleksi dan
kita pilih tombol “New Brush” kemudian pilih “New Art Brush”. Setelah
itu akan muncul jendela baru dengan beberapa pengaturan. Sekarang kita
setting dengan width 30% dan mengubah opsi Method menjadi “Tints” yang
mana pilihan method ini dimaksudkan bahwa warna stroke akan mengikuti
warna yang Anda pilih.
Nah, hasil yang kita buat dengan Adobe Illustrator versi dibawah CS5 hampir mirip dengan Width Profile 1 pada CS5.
Setting Brush: Width Profile 2
Untuk profile kedua ini hampir mirip dengan profile 1, hanya saja
pada profile 2 ini lebih terkesan ada 2 goresan. Kita buat elips seperti
step sebelumnya, hanya saja dengan settingan “Width = 20 pt” dan “Hight
= 3 pt”. Gunakan “Convert Anchor Point Tool” sehingga elips tadi
ujungnya berbentuk runcing. Duplikasi bentuk tadi dengan cara menahan
tombol Shift+Alt dan geser hingga posisi seperti pada gambar dibawah ini
dan pastikan kedua shape rata tengah (Vertical Align Center) setelah
itu gabungkan kedua shape tersebut dengan opsi Unite yang ada pada fitur
Pathfinder.
Langkah selanjutnya yaitu menumpulkan sudut pada masing-masing ujung
dengan Pen Tool. Arahkan kursor pada ujung sudut hingga keluar tanda
minus “-” dan klik sudut tersebut sehingga sudut itu akan hilang. Ulangi
cara tersebut pada sudut yang lain.
Masih dengan cara yang sama, kali ini kita akan menghilangkan sudut
yang ditengah dan menggantinya dengan 4 sudut sehingga terlihat lebih
halus.
Setelah itu kita akan menjadikannya koleksi brush seperti pada step sebelumnya, yaitu Width 30% dan Method = Tints.
Hasil yang kita buat tidak beda jauh dengan settingan default Width Profile pada CS5
Setting Brush: Width Profile 3
Untuk profil ketiga lebih sederhana, yaitu membuat segi enam dari persegi panjang seperti gambar beikut ini:
Untuk menambah point/anchor gunakan Pen Tool hingga kursor berubah
menjadi tanda plus “+”, sedangkan untuk menghapus point pastikan kursor
berubah menjadi tanda minus “-“. Jika sudah seperti gambar diatas.
Setelah itu simpan brush tersebut dengan settingan yang sama, dan
hasilnya tidak jauh berbeda dengan settingan pada Adobe Illustrator CS5.
Setting Brush: Width Profile 4
Untuk profile keempat, kita buat segitiga dari persegi panjang dengan step seperti gambar ini:
Dan hasilnya seperti ini
Setting Brush: Width Profile 5
Profil kelima berdasar bentuk oval dengan settingan “Width = 12 pt”
dan “Hight = 3 pt”. Setelah itu masing-masing ujungnya dibuat lancip
seperti step sebelumnya, dan kemudian ujung sebelah kiri kita tarik
memanjang dengan cara pilih Object > Transform > Move dengan
settingan seperti berikut ini:
Dengan Pen Tool kita ubah ujung kanan dan kiri sehingga lebih smooth.
Dan ini adalah perbandingannya:
Setting Brush: Width Profile 6
Profil keenam masih menggunakan bentuk dasar oval dengan settingan
Width = 20 dan Hight = 12 pt. Setelah itu buat bentuk oval tersebut
hingga tersisa separuh.
Dari separuh oval itu kita potong lagi dan kemudian masing-masing ujungnya kita buat smooth.
Setelah itu simpan settingan brush tersebut dan kita bandingkan dengan settingan default milik Adobe Illustrator CS5:
Itu tadi cara kita membuat Brush dengan settingan yang ada pada Width Profile milik Adobe Illustrator CS5.
Water,
by its very nature is difficult to convincingly incorporate into a
composition. In this tutorial, you will discover how to combine advanced
masking techniques, blending modes, adjustment layers and clever use of
filters to part the sea and create a surreal photo manipulation. Let's
get started!
Tutorial Assets
You will need the following stock images and brushes to complete this tutorial.
Set your Background color to # e7f3fe. Create a new document 27cm x
18cm with the Resolution at 300dpi, the Color Mode in RGB and set the
Background Contents to Background Color. This will be your project file
for this tutorial.
Step 2
Open the first landscape
image and choose Image > Image Rotation > Flip Horizontal. Drag
it's layer thumbnail into your project file to create a new layer, then
Transform to cover the top half of your canvas. Name this layer
"Horizon".
Step 3
Press D to reset your Foreground color to black. Highlight the
Gradient Tool (G), then set it to Foreground to Transparent and Linear
in the Options bar. Now Shift-drag a gradient indicated by the length
and direction of the arrow to blend the top half into the blue
background.
Step 4
Ensure the new layer thumbnail is active, then choose Levels from the
drop-down Create new fill or adjustment layer icon situated at the foot
of the Layers tab. In the next window activate the clipping icon so the
adjustment only affects the target layer and apply these settings to
increase the contrast.
Step 5
Our image now requires a dramatic sky. Open the second landscape,
then use the Lasso Tool (L) to drag a selection around the bird. Now
press Shift +F5 to access the Fill window and choose Content-Aware from
the drop-down menu.
Place this image as another layer, then resize/squash vertically and
position as shown. Name this layer "Sky", then use the same technique as
Step 3 to blend the lower hard-edge into the horizon.
Step 6
Now clip a Levels adjustment to this layer to boost the contrast.
Step 7
Clip another adjustment to the same layer, but this time select Color
Balance and apply these settings. The color and tone of both layers
should now match perfectly.
Step 8
Photoshop has many tools to help us isolate images from their
backgrounds; most rely on a good contrast from the subject and
background color. We'll explore different extraction techniques later in
this tutorial.
For our first image, there's no quick fix to accurately achieve this, so we'll use a channel, or density mask. Open the third landscape
and choose Image > Calculations. In this instance, both Blue
channels set to Color Burn produce the best contrast as a starting point
for our mask. You'll also need to select New Channel from the Result
pull-down menu.
Step 9
Switch to the Channels tab and you'll see the new channel ("Alpha 1")
sitting at the bottom and the visibility of the other channels
disabled. To view the channel in relation to the image, switch on the
top RGB composite. To make viewing easier, double-click the channel mask
icon, then click the color chip to change the default red and alter the
Opacity to suit.
The next stage is to produce a clean silhouette, so make sure your
new channel is active and use a small white Brush (B) at around 50%
Hardness to remove the bottom left area as indicated. Remember to toggle
the visibility of the RGB channel as you work.
Step 10
Set the Dodge Tool (O) to: Range: Highlights, Exposure: 65% and use a
medium, soft-edged brush tip to bleach the pixels around the outer edge
of the trees.
Step 11
Carefully use the Brush Tool (B) to paint with black and white to clean up your channel mask.
Step 12
By default, white acts as selective channel areas, so hit Cmd/Ctrl + I
to Invert your channel to negative. Making a reverse channel may also
reveal tiny imperfections which can be fixed with the Brush Tool (B).
Step 13
Cmd/Ctrl-click your channel mask thumbnail to generate a selection.
Target the top RGB channel and switch back to the Layers tab. Now hit
Cmd/Ctrl + J to float the selection to a new layer, then disable the
visibility of the base layer to view the result.
Step 14
Drag the extracted layer into your working file and label it
"Midground 1". Access Transform > Flip Horizontal and resize/position
to the left. To remove any edge halos, go to Layer > Matting >
Defringe and enter 1px in the following window.
Step 15
Now we'll remove some unwanted brown colors. Target the "Midground 1"
layer and choose Image > Adjustments > Replace Color. Set the
Fuzziness amount to 88 to increase the range to be altered, then change
the Replacement Hue value to +68. Now click the darkest brown in the
preview window with the eyedropper. To remove similar colors, use the
plus dropper.
Step 16
We'll also use a channel mask to extract our fourth landscape. Repeat the the Calculations command again, but this time set both Blue channels to Linear Burn.
Step 17
This channel lacks the contrast of the previous one. Rather than
using the dodge technique over the whole image, press Cmd/Ctrl + L to
access the Levels dialogue box. Now click the Whitepoint dropper over
any greys a few times to make them white.
Step 18
Repeat the same workflow as previous to clean-up and create an inversed channel mask.
Step 19
Now copy a channel-based selection to a new layer.
Step 20
Add this as a new layer to your project file, then Flip
Horizontal/resize and position to the right. Defringe to fix any edge
halos, then name the layer "Midground 2".
Step 21
Repeat the Replace Color command on this layer to convert browns to green.
Step 22
Next, we'll fill the foreground gap with some sand. Use the Lasso
Tool (L) to loosely select a segment of sand from your "Midground 2"
layer. Hit Shift + F6 to open the Feather window and enter 5px. With the
selection still active, press Cmd/Ctrl + J to copy it to a new layer.
Move it to the left, then enlarge and stretch as shown.
Step 23
Duplicate your sand patch layer a few times, then resize and position to cover the remaining gaps.
Step 24
Shift-click all your patch layer thumbnails and press Cmd/Ctrl + E to Merge Layers.
Step 25
Add a mask to your merged layer, then hit Cmd/Ctrl + I to Invert the
mask to black. Now use an assortment of white Brushes (B) to reinstate
the sand. My mask is shown at the bottom of the screenshot for clarity.
Step 26
Now press Cmd/Ctrl + E again to to merge this layer with the "Midground 2" layer.
Step 27
Over the next few steps we'll modify the color and contrast of both
midground layers. First, clip a Levels adjustment to the "Midground 1"
and apply the following settings.
Step 28
Now clip a Color Balance adjustment to the same layer and modify the Midtones and Highlights as shown.
Step 29
To limit the Color Balance adjustment to just the sand beneath the foliage, Invert the mask and paint back with white.
Step 30
Now clip a Levels adjustment to the "Midground 2" layer.
Step 31
As a final modification, clip a Color Balance adjustment to the same layer.
Step 32
Next, we'll add some distant sand on the horizon. Target the
"Midground 2" layer, grab the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) and drag a
selection as shown. Feather the selection by 2px, then copy to the
Clipboard.
Now target the "Levels" adjustment thumbnail above the "Horizon" and
paste to create a new layer. Resize/position to cover the water, then
label it "Distant sand".
Step 33
Open the tourist photo. This has been shot on a white background, so making a clean extraction will be a lot easier.
Set the Magic Wand Tool (W) to Add to selection, the Tolerance to 7
and activate Anti-alias and Contiguous in the Options bar. Now click to
select the background, including the gap between the shirt and forearm.
Step 34
Press Shift + Cmd/Ctrl + I to Inverse your selection, then click the
Refine Edge button in the Options bar. In the following window choose On
Black (B) from the drop-down menu to give the best preview of removing
the white background. Now change Smart Radius to 0.5px, Decontaminate
Colors to 100% and Output to New Layer with Layer Mask.
Step 35
You'll now see a duplicate masked layer and the visibility of the
original layer disabled. At this point your mask may need some small
refinements. First, place a middle black filled layer to reveal any
remaining white. Now zoom right in and use a 3px Brush (B) at around 50%
Hardness to clean up your mask as required.
Step 36
When you're satisfied with your cut-out, drag the mask thumbnail into
the trash icon at the foot of the Layers tab and hit Apply in the
following window.
Add the figure to your working file at the top of the layer stack and
name it "Figure" Defringe by 1px, then reduce in size and place
centrally over the sand.
Step 37
Open the shoreline
image and roughly Lasso (L) a selection excluding the beach ball. Copy
> Paste the selection below the "Figure", then Transform and position
to the left. Now Cmd/Ctrl-drag the corner points to follow the
perspective of the beach.
Step 38
Duplicate this layer, Flip Horizontal and position on the opposite
side. Lasso (L) small areas of the water's edge, Feather by 3px and copy
to new layers. Now reposition them so the shoreline isn't an exact
replica of the left side. My patch layers are shown at the bottom of the screenshot.
Step 39
Merge your patch layers and both sides of the shoreline to a
single layer and label it "Base water". Now add a layer mask and use an
assortment of soft-edged Brushes (B) to blend the hard edges.
Step 40
Clip a Levels adjustment to this layer and apply these settings to lighten it.
Step 41
We'll now start to build up the towering walls of water in either side. Place this wave
photo below the "Figure" layer, then resize and position to the left.
Duplicate, then Flip Horizontal and move to the right. Merge both layers
and name it "Rising water 1".
Step 42
Add a layer mask, then gently fade the top and bottom edges.
Step 43
To blend the waves further, clip a Levels adjustment to it and set the midpoint to 1.34.
Step 44
Now clip a Color Balance adjustment to the same layer and increase the Blue in the Midtones and Shadows.
Step 45
The shoreline and waves still need some blending. First, clip a
Hue/Saturation adjustment to the "Base water" layer, check the Colorize
option and apply the following settings.
Step 46
We don't want the very edge of the shoreline too blue, so Invert the
Hue/Saturation adjustment mask to black and paint back the areas as
indicated.
Step 47
Over the next few steps, we'll extend the water upwards.
Opt/Alt-click between the "Levels" adjustment and the "Rising water 1"
thumbnails to unclip both adjustments. Now switch off the visibility of
both adjustment – we'll reapply these later.
Now target the "Rising water 1" layer, Lasso (L) a selection and Feather by 5px.
Step 48
Copy the selection to a new layer. This layer will undergo some
radical distortion, so to preserve the image detail choose Convert to
Smart Object from the top-right fly-out menu. This change is indicated
by the icon next to the layer name.
Here's where the fun begins! Access Warp via the Transform menu and
drag the control points around. Continue to click and drag on the
rectangles to further distort the water upwards. When you're happy, hit
return, or click the Commit tick icon in the Options bar.
Step 49
Repeat this workflow to add another wall of water on the left, then build up right side.
Step 50
At this stage, I wanted more palm trees protruding behind the right
wall of water. To do this, first highlight the "Midground 2" layer and
it's adjustments thumbnails and duplicate them. Now position them below
the original "Midground 2" layer.
Slide the layer to the left, then resize and mask the hard edge on
the duplicate as circled. I've switched off the water layers in the
screenshot for clarity.
Step 51
Copy selection of breaking water from the wave image and Feather by 5px. Copy > Paste a couple of times and Transform/Warp to extend the height of the water on the left.
Repeat this for the opposite side, then merge them to a single layer and blend with a mask. Name this layer "Rising water 2".
Step 52
Use the same workflow to take the water almost to the top of your
canvas. Merge to one layer, mask and label it "Rising water 3".
Step 53
Add a feathered selection from the second wave
above the "Rising water 3" layer and rotate it 90 degrees clockwise.
Now access Warp, then apply the Arc preset, now click to change the
Change warp orientation button and drag the central handle to match the
left curvature of the water.
Step 54
Duplicate this layer, Flip Horizontal and position on the right.
Merge both layers and name it "Rising water 4". Add an inverted mask,
then paint back with a small white Brush (B) as shown.
Step 55
When you're happy, highlight the "Rising water 2", "Rising water 3"
and "Rising water 4" layer thumbnails and press Cmd/Ctrl + E create
single layer. Rename this layer "Rising water 2".
Step 56
Enable the visibility of the Levels and Color Balance adjustments
above the "Rising water 1" layer. Duplicate these and move/clip them to
the "Rising water 2" layer. Now clip both original adjustments back to
the "Rising water 1" layer.
Step 57
Open the first dolphin
image. To extract the creature's head set the Pen Tool (P) to Path in
the Options bar and carefully plot a closed path as indicated. Now click
the Selection button, enter a Feather Radius of 3px and Copy to the
Clipboard.
Step 58
To keep your layers tidy, place all the floating ones except the "Figure" into a group folder called "WATER".
Now Paste the selection as an upper layer and name it "Dolphin head".
Resize/position over the left wall of water, then blend the hard-edge
with a mask.
Step 59
Clip a Levels adjustment to the "Dolphin head" and copy the following settings to lighten it.
Step 60
Now use the Replace Color technique to remove the green color cast on the "Dolphin head" layer.
Step 61
We'll use paths again to cut-out our bucket and spade.
Draw a closed path around the object, leaving a small amount of sand at
the bottom as indicated in blue. Now double-click your path thumbnail
to save it.
Step 62
Now set the tool to Subtract and draw the inner sub-path around the handle.
Step 63
Click the Selection button in the Options bar and generate a 1px Feather Radius selection, then Copy to the Clipboard.
Step 64
Paste as a new top layer and label it "Bucket and spade". resize and
position to the right of the figure's foot. Blend the hard-edge of the
sand with a mask, then clip a Levels adjustment to boost the contrast.
Step 65
Now clip a Hue/Saturation adjustment to the same layer. We'll add
some wet, darker sand later, so Invert the adjustment mask negative and
use a small Brush (B) to paint back the sand within the bucket.
Step 66
To extract the crab,
we'll use a combination of techniques. Set the Quick Selection Tool (W)
to Add to selection and use a 30px tip to select the top half of the
background around the creature.
Step 67
Inverse your selection, then access the Refine Edge window. Set the View to On Black and copy the following settings.
Step 68
Now use an assortment of hard and soft-edged Brushes (B) on the mask
to remove areas left from the original selection and to gently fade the
bottom edge of sand.
Step 69
Apply the mask, drag across to create a new layer at the top of the
stack. Resize/position to the left rear the shoreline, then mask the
bottom area of sand as required. Name this layer "Crab", then modify
with a clipped Levels adjustment.
Step 70
Now clip a Color Balance adjustment to the same layer and reduce the Blue to -33.
Step 71
Next, we'll add a couple of dead fish. Use the Pen (P) to draw around the first fish,
make a 1px feathered selection and Copy Paste as a top layer.
Resize/position just in front of the crab, then hide parts of its fins
with a mask.
Repeat this for the second fish, then position to the right.
Step 72
At this point, I decided to create a central area of wet, reflective
sand where the water was. Use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to select
the bottom area from this beach
and Copy > Paste as a top layer within the "BACKGROUND/FOREGROUND"
folder. Resize/position centrally and label it "Wet sand".
Step 73
Add a mask to this layer and hide any hard edges with a large, Brush (B).
Step 74
Now we'll cast some shadows from the the man. Place a new layer in
Multiply Mode below the "Figure" and name it "Shadow 1". Sample a dark
brown from your image (I used # 3b1f1f), then use a small soft-edged
Brush (B) and paint the first, darker shadow. If you feel the shadow is
too strong, reduce the layer Opacity accordingly (mine's at 91%). Feel
free to mask excess shadow if needed.
Add another layer, again in Multiply Mode below the "Figure" and
label it "Shadow 2". Paint with a slightly lighter brown (I used #
bca49e), then reduce the Opacity again to suit (mine's at 72%). You can
also mask this layer if necessary.
Step 75
The next stage is to create reflections from the larger objects.
Duplicate the "Figure" layer, position below both shadow layers and
rename it "Figure reflection". Next, access Transform and pull the top
control point down beyond the canvas.
Step 76
Reduce the Opacity of the "Figure reflection" layer to 30%, then add a
mask. Drag a Linear Gradient set to 50% Opacity from the bottom up,
then modify the mask with a small soft-edged black Brush (B).
Step 77
Now we'll do the same for the bucket and spade. Duplicate it, along
with its two adjustment layers, then with all 3 highlighted hit Cmd/Ctrl
+ E to merge them to a single layer. Rename this layer "Bucket and
spade reflection" and stack it below the original "Bucket and spade"
layer. Now repeat the transformation and masking process as you did for
the figure.
Step 78
Now place all your floating layers within a group folder called "LAND OBJECTS".
Step 79
We can now move onto extracting and placing our sea creatures. Open the first shark.
You could use the Pen (P) Tool to cut this one out, but a combination
of the Magic Wand Tool (W) and the Refine Edge command produced a
satisfactory result.
First, copy these settings for the Magic Wand Tool (W) and select as much as the background as possible.
Step 80
Now set the Lasso Tool (L) to Add to selection to remove the remaining background from your selection.
Step 81
Inverse your selection, then open the Refine Edge window and apply the following settings.
Step 82
Apply the mask created by the Refine Edge command, then add as a new
layer below the "LAND OBJECTS" folder. Resize/position to the right and
name it "Shark 1". Now clip a Color Balance adjustment to this layer.
Step 83
Clip a Levels adjustment to the same layer to slightly increase the contrast.
Step 84
The next stage is to create a body for the dolphin, as sharks have a
very similar shape, we'll use the same one from Step 81. Place it as new
layer above the last adjustment and label it "Dolphin body".
Transform/flip and rotate to match the dolphin's head, then mask the
right fin, plus the head.
Step 85
We now need to match the body to the head. First, clip a Color Balance adjustment to the "Dolphin body" and copy these settings.
Step 86
Now modify the same layer with a Hue/Saturation adjustment.
Step 87
Finally, clip a Levels adjustment to the same layer.
Step 88
To extract the turtle,
set the Quick Selection Tool (W) to Add to selection and use a 10px tip
to select the background. Now change to Subtract mode and draw around
any missing areas as circled.
Step 89
Inverse your selection, then open the Refine Edge window and copy these settings.
Step 90
Apply the mask to the Refine Edge layer, then place as a new layer
below the "LAND OBJECTS" folder. Resize/position above the shark, flip
it and label it "Turtle".
Reduce the Opacity of this layer to 70% to give the illusion of being further away, then clip a Levels adjustment to it.
Step 91
Now clip a Hue/Saturation to the "Turtle" so it matches the underwater colors better.
Step 92
Use your preferred method to extract the second shark
– I used a 2px feathered path selection. Paste it below the "LAND
OBJECTS" folder and name it "Shark 2". Transform/position, facing off
the left edge of the scene, then clip a Levels adjustment as shown.
Step 93
Clip a Color Balance adjustment to the same layer and increase the Blue to +20.
Step 94
Use the techniques you've learnt to cut out and place these fish.
Add beneath the "LAND OBJECTS" folder and label it "Fish".
Resize/position above the second shark and lower the Opacity to 45%. Now
clip a Levels adjustment to boost the contrast.
Step 95
As a final modification, clip a Color Balance adjustment to the "Fish" layer.
Step 96
Now add all your creature layers and their adjustments into another group folder called "UNDERWATER CREATURES".
Step 97
Open the ocean
image and use the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) to select the sea. Copy
> Paste to create a new layer above all your folders and rotate 90
degrees clock-wise.
Step 98
Now Warp the layer to follow the contour of the left wall of water.
Step 99
Duplicate this layer and flip it to the opposite side, then merge
both layers. Hit Cmd/Ctrl + A to Select All and Copy to the Clipboard.
Step 100
Press Cmd/Ctrl + N to create a new document. Accept the Clipboard
preset and set the Color Mode to Greyscale and the Background Contents
as White. Now Paste your selection and flatten.
Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and enter a Radius of 5px.
Now press Cmd/Ctrl + L to open the Levels window and apply the following
settings. We'll use this file to distort the sea creatures, so save as "Displacement.psd" to a handy location.
Step 101
We no longer require the merged layer from Step 99, so delete it.
Next, duplicate the "UNDERWATER CREATURES" folder, then press Cmd/Ctrl +
E to merge it. Rename the resulting layer "Underwater creatures
displaced", then turn off the visibility of the original folder. In
order for the filter in next step to work correctly select your canvas
(Cmd/Ctrl + A) and choose Image > Crop.
Step 102
Ensure the "Underwater creatures displaced" is the target layer, then
choose Filter > Distort > Displace. Set both Scale fields to 12,
then check Stretch To Fit and Repeat Edge Pixels and click OK. the
filter will now prompt you to locate and select your "Displacement.psd" file.
The Displace filter behaves the same as a bump map in a 3D
application; it uses greyscale information to push and distort pixels.
It's done a great job of mimicking the effect of refraction seen in nature, but we're not done yet.
Step 103
Change the "Underwater creatures displaced" Blend Mode to Overlay, then clip a Hue/Saturation adjustment to it as shown.
Step 104
We now need some of the background visible through the water.
Duplicate the "BACKGROUND/FOREGROUND" folder and merge it to a single
layer. Rename it "Background blur" and stack it above "Underwater
creatures displaced" layer.
Step 105
Apply a 7px Gaussian Blur the the "Background blur" layer, then
reduce the Opacity to 16%. Now add an inverted mask and paint back the
areas behind the water with a large soft-edged brush. Finally, Cmd/Ctrl -
click the "Underwater creatures displaced" thumbnail to generate a
selection and fill with black on the "Background blur" mask.
Step 106
Over the next few steps, we'll add further detail to the water.
First, use the Lasso Tool (L) to roughly select an area of water from
this wave. Feather by 5px and Copy > Paste as a new layer at the top within the "WATER" folder.
Name this layer "Foam 1", then Transform and warp into shape. Change
the Blend Mode to Screen, then double-click its layer thumbnail to open
the Blending Options window. Opt/Alt click, drag (to split) the top
right Grey Blend If slider to 235. Now select Green from the Blend If
menu and split the same slider to 140. Finally, add a layer mask and
remove any hard edges.
Step 107
Duplicate the "Foam 1" layer several times and Transform/reposition
them over both walls of water. Reapply the Warp command and modify their
masks as well. Rename your duplicate layers accordingly.
Step 108
Open this wave
image and go to Select > Color Range, click on the whitest part of
the image and set the Fuzziness to 99 and the Range to 33%. Copy the
selection to the Clipboard.
Step 109
Paste the selection above the "LAND OBJECTS" folder and label it
"Spray 1". Transform/position as shown, then change the Blend Mode to
Screen. Now clip a Levels adjustment to lighten further, then mask any
excess.
Step 110
Duplicate the "Spray 1" layer and its adjustment several times, then
Transform/position over both peaks of water and modify their masks.
Rename all your duplicate layers accordingly.
Step 111
Follow the same workflow to add a white water layer in Screen Mode
around the top of the dolphin's head. Now place one under its neck, but
change the Blend Mode to Overlay. Mask these layers as well and label
them "Top foam 1" and "Top foam 2".
Step 112
Add a new top layer in Screen Mode and name it "Spray brushes". Set the Brush Tool (B) to around 70% Opacity and use these water brushes to add spray over both peaks of water. For best results rotate and flip your brush tips in the Brush Panel to avoid repetition.
Step 113
It's now time to carry out some final modifications. First, reduce
the Opacity of the Levels adjustment clipped to the "Base water" layer
to 52%, then clip a small Levels adjustment to the "Figure" layer.
Step 114
Revisit the "Sky" layer and reduce its Opacity to 80%, then double-click to modify the same layer's Color Balance adjustment.
Step 115
Place a new layer at the top within the "BACKGROUND/FOREGROUND"
folder and name it "Haze". Fill the layer with a pale blue (# d2dce9),
then reduce the Opacity to just 15%. Now mask the bottom with a
Foreground (black) to Transparent Linear Gradient (G).
Step 116
For natural looking shadows, add a small amount of Noise via the Filter menu to both "Figure" shadow layers.
Step 117
Place a new layer at the very top above all your folders and label it
"Retouch". Now use an assortment of Brushes (B) to paint additional
pale colored foam and water; remember to Opt/Alt-click to pick up the
underlying colors as you work. This layer is shown over black in the
screenshot for clarity.
Now set the Clone Stamp Tool (S) to Current & Below and repair any small flaws on this layer too.
Step 118
Next, we'll add some selective sharpening. Hit Cmd/Ctrl + Shift + Alt
+ E to create a new merged layer at the top of the stack, name it
"Sharpened", then change the Blend Mode to Overlay. Go to Filter >
Other > High Pass and enter 2px in the following window.
Step 119
We only want the foreground elements sharp, so add a mask and use a
large, soft-edged Brush (B) to paint over the background. Now
Cmd/Ctrl-click the "Dolphin head" layer thumbnail to create a selection
and fill with white on the mask. Repeat this with a selection from the
"Figure" layer.
Advertisement
Step 120
Finally, we'll apply an overall color tweak. Place an unclipped (to
affect all layers) Selective Color adjustment at the very top and copy
these settings.
Conclusion and Scope
I hope you've enjoyed this tutorial and discovered some new
techniques along the way. Now you know how it's achieved, why not create
your own water photo-manipulation?